CAVC Case 23-827: Diabetes

CAVCReal U.S. Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims (CAVC) decision · 2022-12-30 · PIETSCH, Judge

This is a decision of the U.S. Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims — the federal court that reviews Board of Veterans' Appeals decisions, one level above the Board. Court decisions can vacate, reverse, or affirm what the Board did.

What would this rating pay you? (2026 rates)

Official 2026 VA monthly compensation, including the 2.8% COLA increase.

per month ·  per year, tax-free

Dependent add-ons start at a 30% rating. Child-only and dependent-parent rates: see the full 2026 pay chart.

2026 base rates, all ratings (veteran alone)
RatingMonthly (2026, incl. 2.8% COLA)
10%$180.42
20%$356.66
30%$552.47
40%$795.84
50%$1,132.90
60%$1,435.02
70%$1,808.45
80%$2,102.15
90%$2,362.30
100%$3,938.58
See your full claim picture — free
Outcome
Unknown
Decision Date
2022-12-30
Judge
PIETSCH, Judge
Service Era
May 1956 to August 1978

Conditions Claimed

DiabetesRadiculopathyErectile Dysfunction

Sponsored
Missing the medical evidence for your VA claim? REE Medical connects veterans with independent licensed providers for nexus letters and DBQs — $50 off through this link.

Referral disclosure: VetAid earns a referral fee if you become a paying REE Medical client through this link — it helps keep this site free. REE Medical provides paid medical evidence; it is not a law firm, VSO, or claims agent, and VetAid has not independently verified its services. VSOs and VA-accredited representatives will help you file your claim at no cost, and no one can guarantee a rating increase.

Issues on Appeal

Service ConnectionEffective DateReopen

Why It Was Decided This Way

PIETSCH, Judge :the appellantthrough counsel, appeals the December 30,2022,Board of Veterans'Appeals (Board) decision in which the Board denied effective dates earlier than January 15,2014, for awards of service connection for (1)type 2 diabetes mellitus with retinopathy associated with herbicide agent exposure;(2) right upper extremity diabetic neuropathy;(3)left upper extremity diabetic neuropathy;(4) right lower extremity diabetic neuropathy;(5)left lower extremity diabetic neuropathy; and (6)end-stage renal disease.

In the December 2014 rating decision, the RO determined that the claim for service connection for diabetes mellitus type 2 remains denied because the evidence submitted is not new and material.

In reaching this determination,the RO considered evidence from the veteran's testimony,the veteran's service officer, the veteran's private treatment records, and his private providers'statements;the RO found that this evidence did not constitute new and material evidence because it does not relate to an unestablished fact necessary to substantiate the claim and does not raise a reasonable possibility of substantiating the claim.

In a March 2018 SOC,the RO found that VA had not yet received new and material evidence sufficient to reopen the claim for service connection for diabetes mellitus type 2, and the RO continued to deny service connection for this disorder.

In an April 2021 decision,the Board determined that the Substantive Appeal received on September 26,2018,was timely with respect to the December 2014 rating decision and March 2018 SOC that adjudicated whether the Agency had received new and material evidence sufficient to reopen a previously denied claim for service connection for diabetes mellitus type 2,and service connection for kidney,renal failure,as secondary to diabetes mellitus type 2.

In the December 2022 decision we consider here on appeal,the Board denied the appellant's claims for entitlement to effective dates earlier than January 15,2014, for the awards of service connection for (1)diabetes mellitus type 2 with retinopathy associated with herbicide exposure;(2)right upper extremity diabetic neuropathy;(3)left upper extremity diabetic neuropathy;(4)right lower extremity diabetic neuropathy;(5) left lower extremity diabetic neuropathy;and (6)end-stage renal disease.

In response,the Secretary maintains that the appellant fails to show that the Board erred simply because it did not address whether,following the final May 2004 rating decision and subsequent June 2005 SOC,the Board would waive the 60-day filing requirement for a Substantive Appeal pursuant to 38 U.

The Secretary further contends that even if the Court were to find that the Board was required to,but did not address waiver, the appellant still has not demonstrated error in the decision, because contrary to the appellant's argument, Percy did not hold that the Board is required to address whether it is willing to waive the requirement of a timely Substantive Appeal.

Authorities Cited

Allday v. BrownCaluza v. BrownCiting Rowell v. PrincipiCoker v. NicholsonCoker v. PeakeGilbert v. DerwinskiHersey v. DerwinskiHunt v. NicholsonLocklear v. NicholsonMason v. BrownPederson v. McPercy v. ShinsekiRobinson v. PeakRobinson v. ShinsekiRoy v. BrownSee Frankel v. DerwinskiSee Hilkert v. West

Denial Type

Non Denial Outcome

Find Similar Decisions for Your Claim

VetAid's analyzer maps your claim against thousands of real Board of Veterans' Appeals decisions like this one — surfacing the exact case law that supports your arguments.

Run my claim through VetAid →
Sponsored
Missing the medical evidence for your VA claim? REE Medical connects veterans with independent licensed providers for nexus letters and DBQs — $50 off through this link.

Referral disclosure: VetAid earns a referral fee if you become a paying REE Medical client through this link — it helps keep this site free. REE Medical provides paid medical evidence; it is not a law firm, VSO, or claims agent, and VetAid has not independently verified its services. VSOs and VA-accredited representatives will help you file your claim at no cost, and no one can guarantee a rating increase.

VetAid is a free veterans claims tool, not a VA-accredited representative — it does not file anything with VA for you, and it works alongside your accredited VSO, claims agent or attorney. About VetAid